This is how it feels

On surviving childhood sexual abuse and #IBelieveDylan Farrow (Trigger Warning)

The Referral

TRIGGER WARNING: DISCUSSION OF CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE

This is how it feels when your word means nothing at all.

~ This Is How It Feels, Inspiral Carpets

Writers write because they must. The never-ending whirring of words in the head; a need, an addiction to fill pages with shades of grey. I have previously written about my childhood sexual abuse and destroyed all of it. I know that the act of writing about my childhood was distressing to many people. I’m not sorry I did it. I found my voice. I’ll leave this post here for a week, and then destroy it, because while what happened is part of me, it is not the whole. This is my lived experience, but I’m not the only one with a cleft in my heart. I also did it out of fear that it separates me from you, from ‘normal’. That I’m marked ‘damaged…

View original post 462 more words

Leave a Reply

